Skip Navigation

Federal Employees' Retirement System (FERS)

The Federal Employees' Retirement System (FERS) is a three-tiered system that includes Social Security, a Basic Benefit annuity, and the Thrift Savings Plan (TSP). You are under FERS if:

  1. You were first hired on or after January 1, 1984; or,
  2. You were rehired after a break in service of more than one year but with less than five years of creditable CSRS civilian service; or,
  3. You elected to transfer to FERS; or,
  4. You were rehired in a covered position after a separation from a FERS position.

Additional Information

This page was last reviewed on